“The fall will probably kill ya!”

27 September, 2008

I just watched the iconic scene from Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid when the two heroes jump the cliff. I don’t doubt that it was a coincidence but I can’t think of a more fitting image to take in right after learning that Paul Newman, the world’s greatest movie star, has died.

I’ve been sitting here for 10 minutes now, racking my brain on how to describe what made Newman so bloody good. Then I remembered this little montage I saw on YouTube a while back and realized I don’t have to say anything at all. Roger Ebert, Johnny Cash, user Tas2387, and Mr. Newman himself have done the job for me. Boy, these kids could really learn a thing or two from a real film presence. RIP.

P.S. I haven’t been writing much lately because my hard drive died and the future of my laptop is looking bleaker and bleaker by the day. I’m at home in Jersey right now but hopefully I’ll be back to blogging regularly soon.

4 Responses to ““The fall will probably kill ya!””

  1. Rob said

    Dude, you can replace the hard drive yourself.

    Instructions how to are here:
    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/MacBook_13inch_HardDrive_DIY.pdf

    And a replacement drive is here:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/MacBook/DDR2/ under $60 bucks man, cheaper than Apple or anyone else replacing it and cheaper than a new laptop.

    Scroll down towards the bottom. I recommend the Toshiba or Hitachi’s. If you need a full version of Leopard, I can mail a copy off to you along with a copy of Iworks 08.

  2. Noah said

    I replaced the hard drive but now I can’t seem to reinstall Mac OS X. I’ve done all the possible steps but I don’t know… the incident w/ the rain last year might have fucked up my computer more than I realized.

  3. Rob said

    Have you ried booting from your recovery disk? I had a hard drive crash on my desktop, couldn’t use my recovery disks, but I was able to boot and do a full wipe and install from my OSX 10.5 disk.

  4. Tas2387 said

    Losing Paul Newman really was such a loss for film lovers. He really redefined modern cinema. Glad you like the tribute.

Leave a Reply

