I wanna be his friend.

12 November, 2008

Every time I see Danny Boyle interviewed, I can’t believe he’s actually making films. Most of the so-called cool film directors are young (like Edgar Wright) but Boyle’s in his 50s. He’s like an aging rock star but in the best possible way. Here he is promoting Slumdog Millionaire, my most anticipated film of the year, on Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo’s show. Great director. Even his weaker films are better than most of everyone else’s.

Incidentally I’ve been getting into Mr. Kermode a lot lately. Most of the younger critics don’t know shit about cinema but he is the exception to the rule. Also his Pirates of the Caribbean 3 rant is too funny.

2 Responses to “I wanna be his friend.”

  1. Rob said

    Dude bags on my woman! He will die!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛

    He’s right aboot Orlando though 😉

  2. Noah said

    Yeah he’s known for being a rather vocal critic of Ms. Knightley, some of which I think is warranted but I still believe there’s a great deal of potential to become one of the great British actresses. And while I do find Johnny Depp phenomenally overrated as Jack Sparrow, I don’t think he’s THAT bad.

    Check out his other reviews, though. Again, even if you disagree with them, he knows his stuff.

Leave a Reply

