Guerrilla filmmaking on a Bolex.

26 December, 2008

“We’ll do it live, fuck it!!”– Bill O’Reilly

It’s difficult for me to judge how well I pulled this film together except that I did the best I could. I was unable to find the location I had been promised, I couldn’t find a similar substitute, and when I went back to my old house in the middle of the woods to shoot the story there, I discovered it had been torn down. In the end, I had to jettison all the pre-production work and start a new story from scratch. Worst of all, I suddenly found out that I only had my actor for a couple hours as opposed to the entire day, so therefore every decision I made was on the fly. If filmmaking most involves crisis management then I wasn’t just the manager: I was the CEO.

My favorite saying about filmmaking comes from the screenwriter Bruce Robinson: “If you haven’t got luck, you’re f***ed.” I’ve decided to ironically call the film Lucky Day as a tribute to this quote. Did my 27 have luck? The film will speak for itself. That said, I couldn’t count the number of times I cringed while putting together my last film — Top Model — together. That picture did not have luck. This one might. Most of the footage came out quite well, and while the final product isn’t nearly as interesting as my original script, the result is at the very least, watchable. Maybe that’s a stroke of luck in and of itself.

Hope you enjoy it.

2 Responses to “Guerrilla filmmaking on a Bolex.”

  1. Rob said

    Watchable indeed.

  2. yvonne said

    i like it! but i like tom waits and old fashioned things, so maybe i’m biased.

Leave a Reply

